scenario, uncaught third strike, bases loaded, two outs.
Uncaught third strike, bases loaded, two outs
Anonymous asked: Scenario above, unable to get the force out at home before the runner from third scores, though the throw is made down to first and the batter is out at first.
Does the run count or not since the batter did not make it to first safely?
Though the runner crossed home plate first, it seems to me that the run would not count since the runner would have to get to first safely before the run could score just like any ground ball or fly ball play. The runner has to make it safely to first in order for the run to count, especially since bases are loaded and all runners would have to advance before the force out.
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
In the scenario you presented, the batter - runner does have to reach first base safely, for the run to count.
Rule 5:08 How a team scores
(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter- runner before he touches first base
(2) by any runner being forced out, or
(3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.