The Ole Ball Game

Runner Scores before the Out

Out at first

Out at first

Anonymous asked: There's a runner on 2 and 3 with 2 outs.


Batter hits a pop-up to the pitcher and the pitcher drops it. He picks it up and still throws the guy out at first.

The runner on 3 scores before the guy going to first gets out.

The inning is over but does the run count?


Rick answered: Thank you for your question.


The rule covering this situation is Rule 9 Scoring - Record keeping
Section 1 How a Team Scores Art 1...A runner scores one run each time he legally advances to and touches first, second,third and then home plate before there are three outs to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows:

a. by the batter-runner before he touches first base.


For that run to score, the batter-runner would need to be safe at first base.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.