The Ole Ball Game

Runner scores before 3rd out

Anonymous asked: Runners on 1st and 3rd, ground ball is hit to first baseman who tags the base then throws to second to tag the runner for the 3rd out.


Runner crosses the plate before the tag at second base, does the run count?


Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

Rule 5.08 How a Run Scores

(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first base, second base, third base and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made;

(1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base.

(2) or by any runner being forced out, or

(3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases

Since the first baseman tagged first base to retire the batter-runner, that was out number 2.

It also created a situation called "force removed".

The runner from first must now be tagged out, and for the run not to count, that tag out would have to be prior to the runner from third base crossing the plate.

Runner safe at home.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.