The Ole Ball Game

runner is safe

by pAUL
(sARNIA, ont, cAN)

Out At Second On The Tag

Out At Second On The Tag

Paul asked: A BATTER HITS A BALL TO SHORTSTOP WHO OVERTHROWS FIRST BASE.


THE BALL DOES NOT GO OUT OF PLAY.

THE RUNNER ATTEMPTS TO REACH 2ND BASE.

THE CATCHER FIELDS THE BALL AN THROWS TO 2ND .

UMPIRE CALLED RUNNER OUT AS A FORCE. MY THOUGHT IS THAT THE RUNNER SHOULD HAVE BEEN TAGGED OUT. NOT DONE ...

HE IS SAFE, CORRECT?


Rick answered: Paul, thank you for your question.

You are correct, the runner had to be tagged, there is no force created.

The runner was, the batter-runner. No one forced him off of first base, he went on his own, on the overthrow.

To get the out, the defense has to make a tag on the runner, to record the out.

I am guessing that call created quite a discussion
in real time. Hopefully, the umpire making the call asked for help from his partner, and they got it corrected.


Yours in baseball,


Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.