The Ole Ball Game

Ruling on a Balk

by Jordan
(Grand Rapids, MI)

Jordan asked: I was recently umpiring a baseball game and I was the field umpire.


My partner that was behind the plate called a balk that basically ended the game because it put a runner in scoring position.

What happened was the pitcher threw the pitch; but the batter was not set yet and was still bringing his foot into the box from getting his signs.

My partner called a balk on the pitcher for not waiting for the batter to be "reasonable set".

I always thought this was just a no pitch, but I just want to make sure he made the right call.

Thanks
JP


Rick answered: Jordan, thank you for your question.

The rule covering this particular situation is Rule 6 Sec 1 Pitching Art 1...The pitcher shall pitch while facing the batter from either a windup position or a set position. The position of his feet determine whether he will pitch from the windup or set position. He shall take his sign from the catcher with his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher's plate.

The pitching regulations begin when he intentionally contacts the pitcher's plate. Turning the shoulders to check the runners while in contact with the pitcher's plate in the set position is legal. Turning the shoulders after bringing the hands together during or after the stretch is a balk.

He shall not make a quick-return pitch in an attempt to catch the batter off balance.

Plate umpires almost always will have a hand extended towards the pitcher until the batter gets himself completely in the box, at which time he will signal the pitcher he can go.

The pitcher must have just gone ahead, whether looking for an advantage, or just lost his focus.

Sounds like a costly error on his part, moving the runner into scoring position.

Plate umpire's call was correct, even if he hadn't extended a hold on the pitcher.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Comments for Ruling on a Balk

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 03, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Revision To This Answer
by: Anonymous

"Plate umpire's call was correct, even if he hadn't extended a hold on the pitcher."

IF the umpire's hand was extended, then you can't have a balk on a dead ball. The ball must be live to have a balk call.

I don't know the circumstances leading up to this call but if the ball was "live" and the pitcher quick pitched, then yes it's a balk.



Oct 02, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Re
by: Anonymous

Awesome thanks!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.