Over throwing first base.
Photo Bill Stanton: Checkswing.com
Anonymous asked: When a batter has hit the ball and is running toward first base, the ball is fielded and overthrown, what is the rule as far as how many bases the runner is entitled to?
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
The runner is awarded 2 bases, if first thrown by infielder and the ball goes out of play or lodged in or under a fence.
If the ball stays in play, the runner is on his/her own to advance, there is no award.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.