The Ole Ball Game

Official ruling question

8-5 Force At Third

8-5 Force At Third

Anonymous asked: We've been having a discussion as to what the official ruling would be on a play and maybe we're thinking to far into it.


The situation:

Runners on first and second 1 out.

Ball hit to shallow center.... Runner on second takes steps but doesn't want to get to far from the bag in case of a double play scenario.

The ball eventually drops and the center fielder is able to throw the lead runner out at 3rd.

I'm assuming this is considered a hit for the batter but what about the runner?

What would the official ruling be on that one?

Just a force out, or is there another term I'm not thinking of.

Thank you.


Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

The batter is credited with a base hit, the runner from second is recorded as a 8-5 Put out.

Since the batter clearly had a base hit, the option of a fielder's choice actually penalizes
him, thus the base hit/8-5 put out at third.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.