The Ole Ball Game

No -Hitter ???

Anonymous asked: In high school a complete game is 7 innings.


The pitcher pitches a no hitter for 7 innings.

He comes back out in bottom of the 8th inning and gives up a hit.

Does he get credit for the no hitter or not?


Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

In high school, a regulation game is slotted to go 7 innings.

There are also run ruled complete games, as well as extra inning complete games.

In your scenario, the pitcher of record is involved in an extra inning game, as soon as he goes out for the 8th inning.

When he gives up the hit, he loses his no hitter. The no hitter is based on completion of the game, which will be at some point past giving up the hit.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.