The Ole Ball Game

Is this scored as a Hit or an Error?

Anonymous asked: Howdy:

Question on how to properly log the following situation:

Little League Batter (Age 12) hits a line drive to the second baseman.

The second baseman catches the ball, but the ball is hit so hard it takes the glove off the hand of the second baseman.

Runner safely reaches 1st base.

Is this scored as:
A hit?
or
simply as an error on the second baseman?

What is the correct way to score this situation?
Thanks in advance for the guidance!


Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

The situation you have described would become a judgment call by the scorekeeper. They have the leeway to decide which call they would make, based on what they see in real time.

As described, I would presume a hit.


Yours in baseball,

Rick




Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.