If a batter reaches first on a dropped third strike does the batter receive a "hit" in the score books?
If Batter Reaches First Base On A Dropped Third Strike
Ken asked: If a batter reaches first on a dropped third strike does the batter receive a "hit" in the score books?
Rick answered: Ken, thank you for your question.
Rule 9.04 Runs Batted In
a) The official scorer shall credit the batter with a run batted in for every run that scores:
1. unaided by an error as part of a play begun by the batter's safe hit(including the batter's home run), sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out or fielder's choice, unless rule 9.04(b) applies
2. by reason of the batter becoming a runner with the bases full (because of a base on balls, an award of first base for being touched by a pitched ball or for interference or obstruction); or
3) When, before two are out, an error is made on a play on which a runner from third base ordinarily would score.
(b)The official scorer shall not credit a run batted in
1. when the batter grounds into a force double play or a reverse-double play; or
2. When a fielder is charged with an error because the fielder muffs a throw at first base that would have completed a force double play
(c) The official scorer's judgement must determine whether a run batted in shall be credited for a run that scores when a fielder holds the ball or throws to a wrong base. Ordinarily, if the runner keeps going, the official scorer should credit a run batted in; if the runner stops and takes off again when the runner notices the misplay, the official scorer should credit the run as scored on a fielder's choice.
A dropped third strike, where the batter reaches first base safely, would be considered an error on the catcher, thus the run scored would be shown as having been scored on an error, no RBI.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.