The Ole Ball Game

If a batter hits a bases loaded triple with 2 outs , but does not steps on 1st , the the pitcher throws to 1st and called out for not stepping on 1st, do any of the runs count???

by Jesus zavala
(The Colony Tx USA)

How Many Runs Score?

How Many Runs Score?

Jesus asked: A hitter hits a bases loaded triple with 2 outs.


Then the pitcher throws to 1st because he didn't steped on 1st and gets called out? Do any of the runs count???


Rick answered: Jesus, thank you for your question.


Rule 5.08...How A Team Scores...(a)one run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before 3 men are out to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made, (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base.

For any of those runners to score, the batter-runner must be safe at first base.

Since he did not touch first, and was thus called out on appeal, none of the base runners ahead of him score. Three outs, inning over.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.