The Ole Ball Game

if a batted ball hits first base and then bounces out of play is it fair or foul

Photo Bill Stanton:  Checkswing.com

Photo Bill Stanton: Checkswing.com

Anonymous asked: If a batted ball hits first base and then bounces out of play, is it fair or foul?


Rick answered: Thank you for your question!

When the ball hits any of the three bases, it is a fair ball. All bases are located in fair territory.

Should the ball remain on the field of play; but in foul territory, the ball is live.

If the ball leaves the field of play and goes into a dugout, over a fence, into the stands, across a boundary line drawn on the field, it immediately becomes a dead ball.

Playing field includes both fair and foul territory. Any areas beyond the playing field are defined as being outside the playing field ( dead ball area.)

Yours in baseball,

Rick


Comments for if a batted ball hits first base and then bounces out of play is it fair or foul

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 30, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Live or dead ball? NEW
by: Anonymous

what if the batted baseball land on fair territory, rolled and hit the third base?

Oct 28, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Not an out
by: Rick, theoleballgame

Anonymous: A ball that hits a base is a fair ball; but is not a fly ball.

The player catching the ball, after it hits the base, must make a throw to get the runner out.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Oct 28, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Ball hits base
by: Anonymous

If baseball hits a base bounces in air and caught by player on other team is it an out?

May 06, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Awarded 2 bases
by: Rick, theoleballgame

Section 3 Base running awards Art 3...Each runner is awarded:

c. Two bases if a fair batted ball or thrown ball becomes dead because of bouncing over or passing through a fence, or lodges in a defensive player's or umpire's equipment or uniform.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

May 02, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
how many bases do the runners get?
by: Anonymous

the ball is a dead ball but is it a two-base award? or just one? or what? does the award depend upon where the ball ends up out of play?

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.