How to score this play
by Neil T.
(Lake Worth, Florida usa)
Sac Fly Or Error
Neil asked: Runner on third, one out.
Batter hits fly ball to left field, left fielder drops the ball. Runner on third scores.
Is the play a sacrifice and error on the left fielder or an error with no RBI?
Rick answered: Neil, thank you for your question.
Rule 9.08 Sacrifices
The official scorer shall:
(d) Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a fly ball in flight handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield, in fair or foul territory.
(2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorers judgment the runner could have scored after the catch had the fly ball been caught.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.