How do you score a stolen base?
by don housen
Don asked: Do you get a stolen base if catcher drops the ball?
Rick answered: Don, thank you for your question.
The rule which covers this situation is 9-4-Article 1...A stolen base shall be credited in the summary to a runner each time he advances a base without the aid of a base hit, a putout, a fielding (including battery) error or fielder's choice.
* Official scorer determines, in their opinion, if the runner would have stolen the base, even if the ball had not been dropped. ( This is generally a case where the runner had such a big jump, that the catcher would have had no chance to throw him out, even if the ball had been caught.)
Rule 9-5-Article 5...An error is charged against a fielder or a team for each misplay that prolongs the time at bat of the batter or the time a player continues to be a runner, or permits the runner to advance one or more bases.
2. A catcher is not charged with an error for a wild throw in his attempt to prevent a stolen base unless the runner advances another base because of the throw.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.