home run during third out throw out
Out At First
Ron asked: 2 outs.
Man on third. Ground ball to deep second base.
Bobbles the ball but throws out at first but third base runner scores before the throw out.
Rick answered: Ron, thank you for your question.
Rule 5.08 How A Run Scores
(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first base, second, third and home base, before three men are put out to end the inning.
Exceptions: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made
1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base
2) or by any runner being forced out or,
3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
In the situation you described, the batter-runner would have to have reached first base safely, in order for that run to be scored.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.