The Ole Ball Game

Dropped third strike

by Markus
(Albany,or)

Marcus asked: Runner on third two outs.


Dropped third strike batter doesn't run right away.

The catcher throws to the pitcher for a play at the plate and the runner is safe.

The pitcher then throws to first to get the batter out for the third out.

Does the run count?


Rick answered: Marcus, thank you for your question.

While there is a little more involved with the situation you describe, it is the same as a first and third, two outs, and the runner on first gets picked off.

Once picked off, it is his job to stay away from a tag, until the runner from third can score. If he is successful, the run counts, as it was scored prior to out number 3.

In your situation, when the umpire called strike three, then the ball was dropped, the ball is still live.

The runner from third scores before the defense throws the batter-runner out at first, for the third out, so the run counts.

The runner from third scored prior to the batter-runner being thrown out and that play ending.

From your description, it sounds like the catcher may have had an opportunity to tag the batter, as he did not run right away. That would have ended the inning, if it was before the runner touched the plate.

Sounds like he would have had time to throw to first himself and get the out before the runner from third could touch home plate.

Sounds like a wild one. Did they count the run on the field, at the time?


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Comments for Dropped third strike

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 12, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Huh
by: Markus

Well I guess maybe he made the wrong call.

May 12, 2015
Rating
starstarstar
Force out
by: Anonymous

Rule 9: Scoring

A run is NOT scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which third out is made as follows:

a. By a batter-runner before he touches first base.

Batter-runner would have to be safe at first for the run to count


May 11, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
It was a crazy play
by: Anonymous

Yes the umpire made the right call on the field. I have never seen that play before. I would have thought that the force at first would have canceled out the run. Thank you for you answer. .

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.