The Ole Ball Game

Can players advance if third baseman catches ball in foul territory and then momentum carries him out of base line?

by Mike
(Ma.)

Photo Bill Stanton:  Checkswing.com

Photo Bill Stanton: Checkswing.com

Mike asked: While playing softball today this situation came up. A foul ball was caught in foul territory by the third baseman. Momentum carried him out of the fair play lines.(out of all bounds). There were men on base. Do they get to advance and if so, can they take 1 base or 2?


Rick answered: Great question!

The situation you have described is a dead ball situation, suspension of play.

The ball becomes dead immediately when a player leaves the field of play by stepping with both feet or by falling into a bench, dugout, stand, bleacher, or over any boundary or barrier such as a fence, rope, chalk line, or a pregame determined imaginary boundary line.

Award all runners one base, except when the caught ball is third out.

If the ball is caught in foul territory but the fielder remains on the field of play, the ball stays live until someone calls time out. Runners must tag and can advance on the catch at their own risk.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.