The Ole Ball Game

can a batter be called out who was awarded base on balls?

by Lex
(San Diego, CA USA)

Can A Batter Be Called Out Who Was Awarded A Base On Balls?

Can A Batter Be Called Out Who Was Awarded A Base On Balls?

Lex asked: Batter gets a ball four call and awarded first base but; the ball gets past the catcher and is deflected into the field of play.


Batter now a runner on his way to first unintentionally kicks the ball allowing a runner at second to advance.

Can a batter be called out who was awarded a base on balls?


Rick answered: Lex, thank you for your question.

The one way in which that could happen, would be if the umpire felt that the batter-runner intentionally touched the baseball.

In that instant, the play becomes a judgment call for the umpire, and there is no specific rule a coach can argue to get it changed.

If the umpire did call interference, he would call the batter-runner out, and return the other runner to the base he previously occupied.

Judgment calls are tough for sure. Just have to walk away, once you hear that"in my judgement, the runner kicked the ball on purpose."

You can request the umpire to ask for help from his partner; but he doesn't have to do that.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Comments for can a batter be called out who was awarded base on balls?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 09, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Who's Out For Offensive Interference?
by: Rick

Anonymous: Sounds like in real time that situation got a lot more complicated.

Once the on deck batter picked up the baseball, it negated any advancement for the batter-runner beyond first base.

Ball four provided him first base, he may have gotten an additional base, had the on deck hitter left the ball alone. Never know for sure.

Batter-runner should be safe at first, any advancement beyond that is at his own risk. The on deck batter actually helped out the defense, happens sometimes.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

May 09, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
walk - out
by: Anonymous

batter gets ball 4 on wild pitch bases empty ball flies by catcher ,hits edge of board on backstop and ricochets to on deck circle.Batter is running down line when on deck batter picks up ball and throws to catcher??? who's out for offensive interference?

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.