The Ole Ball Game

Batter swings and misses third strike ball bounces off catchers shin guard and rolls in dugout. How many if any extra bases does the batter receive?

Anonymous asked: Batter swings and miss third strike.


Ball bounces off catchers shin guard and rolls in dugout.

Does the batter get and extra base?


Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

Rule 6.09 Batter becomes a runner when...b) the third strike called by the umpire is not caught, providing first base is unoccupied or first base is occupied with 2 outs.

7.05...h) one base if a ball, pitched to the batter, or thrown from the pitcher's plate to a base to catch a runner, goes into a stand or a bench, or over or through a field fence or backstop. The ball is dead.

Approved ruling: When a wild pitch or passed ball goes through or by the catcher, or deflects off the catcher and goes directly into the dugout, stands, above the break, or anywhere the ball is dead, the awarding of bases shall be one.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Comments for Batter swings and misses third strike ball bounces off catchers shin guard and rolls in dugout. How many if any extra bases does the batter receive?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 16, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Advancing Runners
by: Anonymous

If there was a runner on second advancing to third, would third be his one base or would he get home?

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.