Bases Loaded squeeze play with error
Squeeze Bunt 1957 World Series
Anonymous asked: Just trying to see how this is scored.
Bases loaded, squeeze play perfect bunt down the first base line, runner on third scores, pitcher fields the ball and throws to first, the first baseman drops the ball.
Is this still a sac bunt with an RBI or now an error and the hitter will now be 0-1 with no rbi?
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
Rule 9.04 - Runs Batted In...A run batted in is a statistic credited to a batter whose action at bat causes one or more runs to score, as set forth in Rule 9.04
(3) when, before two are out, an error is made on a play on which a runner from 3B ordinarily would score.
Based on your description of the bunt, and the third baseman's decision to go to first base, the RBI should be credited to the batter, as in (3) above.
The error at first occurred also, so it records as a E-3, with the batter credited with an RBI.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.