BALL ON PLAY
by LORENZO SIFUENTES
(EL PASO TEXAS US)
Lorenzo asked: WHEN THERE IS ONE OUT, RUNNERS ON FIRST AND THIRD.
BATTER HITS A GROUND BALL TO SECOND BASE.
THE FILDER GETS THE BALL, TAGS THE RUNNER, THROWS To FURST FOR DOUBLE PLAY.
THE SUNNER ON THIRD SCORES BEFORE THE THIRD OUT IS CONSUMED AT FIRST.
DOES THE RUN COUNT?
Rick answered: Lorenzo, thank you for your question.
Rule 9 Scoring-Record Keeping Section 1 How A Team Scores:
Art 1...A runner scores on run each time he legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home plate before there are three outs to end the inning.
Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows: (a) by the batter-runner before he touches first base.
For the runner to score in your described situation, the batter-runner would have to be safe at first base.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.