A batted ball first hits foul, bounds over first base, then hits foul. Is this a fair or a foul ball?
First, second and third bases are all positioned in fair territory.
Anonymous asked: The question is about fair or foul ball.
A batted ball hits foul, bounds over first base in the air, and curves back foul and hits in foul territory.
Foul or fair?
Does a bounding ball have to hit in fair territory to be called fair, if it crossed over first base.
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
For the first part, when the batted ball originally hit in foul territory, it would only be foul if touched by a defensive player or umpire, before it came back fair.
When it comes over first base, since first base is set completely in fair territory, it is a fair ball. At this point, coming back into foul territory is not a factor, it is still a fair ball.
A bounding ball does not have to hit in fair territory to be called fair, as long as it passes over first or third base, as they are both in fair ground.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.