The Ole Ball Game

2 outs runner on second and third ball hit to short stop and tags runner coming from second after the runner from 3rd crosses the plate crosses the plate for the final out does the run count

by Herb
(Pittsburgh)

Herb asked:2 outs runner on second and third.


Ball hit to short stop who tags runner coming from second, for the 3rd out, after the runner from 3rd crosses the plate.

Does the run count?

Rick answered: Herb, thank you for your question.

5.08 How A Run Scores

(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first base, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made

1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base.

2) or by any runner being forced out or

3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.


The runner from third base scores before the shortstop can tag the runner from second, for the third out.

The runner from second is not a force out situation, he did not have to leave second base, due to a runner advancing behind him.

The run counts.

For the run not to count, in this situation, the shortstop would have to make the out prior to the runner from third touching home plate.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.